The Sunday Musings – Solitude


So, after the break, the weekly schedule returns amidst a big change hovering over the horizon.

Let it be straight here itself, I am still in the hangover of Kharkiv. I am actually amazed how some things just keep lingering on! A conversation with the owner of my apartment ended in her saying,” Well, we pick up good habits very quickly!” This sums up Kharkiv for me in total! I suppose the taste will linger on for a while more, maybe even more!

The week has gone through mostly in lonely introspections about where my life is going and where I wish to steer it. And as introspection always demands, I ended up spending a great deal of time all by myself and that has left me writing about Solitude and what an oxymoronic feel it actually is!

In the book, ‘Manuscript found in Accra‘, Paulo Coelho quotes:

Solitude is not the absence of company, but the moment when our soul is free to speak to us and help us decide what to do with our life

I will tell you – Truer words may never have been spoken. In those moments do we realise what we actually yearn for. Solitude, no matter how hard it is, helps us recharge our mind!

Coelho further goes on to write, “If you are never alone, you cannot know yourself. And if you don’t know yourself, you will begin to fear the void”

Amazingly, it is like swimming that you have to let go before your body learns to float! You have to let the void immerse you before you can get over the fear! And once over it, you will enjoy it like you enjoy the company of a friend, the only difference being that this time the friend is only conscience secretly speaking to you!

I have had my share of exhausting weeks when I have continuously questioned the existence of terms like friendship, companions, Weeks when life has been all miserable and all that has been, has seemed gloomy!

But then the lessons have kicked in! Once one has truly embraced that part of life does it stop haunting you! And what lays at the end of it all, is a beautiful person and a beautiful life!

Cheers!

PS: Manchester United drew with Arsenal in what seems to be David De Gea’s final game for Manchester United at Old Trafford. Goes without saying that if he leaves, he will be immensely missed!

2 thoughts on “The Sunday Musings – Solitude

Leave a Reply

